Wassily Kandinsky Unbenannte Improvisation II,
Wassily Kandinsky, Unbenannte Improvisation II, 1914 ©

Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam. Foto: Studio Tromp, Rotterdam 

Date
Sunday 07 October 2018 to Monday 14 January 2019

Looking back at "Defending 'Degenerate' German Art"

The year 2018 will mark the 80th anniversary of the 1938 London exhibition 'Twentieth Century German Art', the largest international response to the National Socialist campaign against “degenerate art”. This exhibition contained over 300 examples of modern German art – by exactly those artists facing persecution in Germany – in an attempt to defend them on a world stage. The show was also one of the most significant émigré projects of the period. Works were sent to London from scores of Germans in exile: from collectors, dealers and artists based across Europe, at various stages of their flight from the Third Reich.

This October, the exhibition London 1938: Defending 'Degenerate' German Art at the Liebermann Villa in Berlin’s Wannsee will bring together a  sample of the original London artworks for the first time, together with documentary information regarding their lenders in 1938, the reasons for their loans, and the impact of the exhibition in both Britain and Germany. 

From Kandinsky to Liebermann and Klee - see some of the most inspiring works that were classified as "degenerate art" in Berlin!

  • When: 7 October 2018 - 14 January 2019
  • Where: Liebermann Villa, Colomierstraße 3, 14109 Berlin, Germany
  • Tickets:  8€ / 5€ (reduced)

We are delighted to cooperate with the Liebermann Villa as part of our UK/Germany 2018 season and to support artists from the UK and Germany in providing them with the opportunity to experience the exhibition and create their own response work. Watch this space to learn more about how they experienced the exhibition!

UK/Germany 2018

Wassily Kandinsky Unbenannte Improvisation II,
Wassily Kandinsky, Unbenannte Improvisation II, 1914 ©

Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam. Foto: Studio Tromp, Rotterdam 

Date
Sonntag 07 Oktober 2018 bis Montag 14 Januar 2019

London 1938 - Mit Kandinsky, Liebermann und Klee gegen Hitler

Im Jahr 2018 feiert die Ausstellung „Twentieth Century German Art“, die 1938 in London stattfand, ihr 80. Jubiläum. Die Ausstellung stellte die größte internationale Antwort auf die Kampagne  „Entartete Kunst“ der Nationalsozialisten dar und enthielt mehr als 300 Meisterwerke der deutschen Moderne – darunter befanden sich Werke genau jener Künstler, die in Deutschland verfolgt wurden. Die Ausstellung war auch eines der bemerkenswertesten Projekte, mit denen sich deutsche Emigranten und die verfemten Künstler selbst zu Wort meldeten. Mehr als 100 Ausstellungsstücke kamen von deutsch-jüdischen Unternehmern, Linkspolitikern und Künstlern, die Deutschland bereits verlassen hatten.

Im Herbst 2018 bringt die Ausstellung „London 1938: Defending „Degenerate“ German Art“ in der Liebermann Villa auf Berlins Wannsee einige der originalen Londoner Ausstellungswerke zusammen  und informiert gleichzeitig über die Leihgeber aus dem Jahr 1938 sowie über die Hintergründe ihrer Leihgaben und die Auswirkung der Ausstellung in Großbritannien und Deutschland.

Von Kandinsky über Liebermann und Klee -  erlebe einige der inspirierenden Werke aus der Originalausstellung in Berlin!

  • Wann: 7 Oktober 2018 - 14 Januar 2019
  • Wo: Liebermann Villa, Colomierstraße 3, 14109 Berlin, Germany
  • Tickets:  8€ / 5€ (reduziert)

Wir freuen uns im Rahmen unseres Großbritannienjahrs 2018 mit der Liebermann Villa zusammenzuarbeiten und aufstrebende KünstlerInnen aus Großbritannien und Deutschland bei ihrem Besuch der Ausstellung und dem Erstellen ihrer eigenen Werke zu unterstützen. In Kürze geben wir hier einen Einblick in ihre Erfahrungen in der Ausstellung! 

UK/Germany 2018