At the British Council, we are committed to providing you the best that UK arts and culture has to offer even in times of crisis. We are working hard to deliver high-class events while responding to the guidances and restrictions of the German government and health authorities.  

We've put together a list of resources that you can enjoy virtually, from the comfort and safety of your home while staying connected. 

  • Selector Radio: every week, Jamz Supernova brings you the best of UK music: from any band, any artist and any genre as long as it’s new and exciting
  • British Council Collection: have a look at the British Council's collection of art, craft, design which has been gathered since the late 1930's to showcase the achievements of the UK's best artists, craft practitioners and designers abroad.
  • Hay Festival Digital: We're proud to be partnering with Hay Festival Digital which will feature performances, discussions, and interactive Q&As with over 100 of the world’s greatest writers and thinkers. It streamed online from 22 – 31 May 2020. The series includes readings and talks with poet and playwright Inua Ellams, author and broadcaster Afua Hirsch, and a star-studded gala night celebrating the Wordsworths with Margaret Atwood, poet laureate Simon Armitage, Benedict Cumberbatch, Stephen Fry, Vanessa Redgrave, Tom Hollander, Toby Jones, Helen McCrory and more. All events are available on Hay Player. 
  • The Globe Theatre At Home: the prestigious "Wooden O" will premiere six of their productions for free on YouTube, releasing one every two weeks as from Monday 6 April, and you can also rent and buy an even larger collection of films (130 to be exact!), to enjoy via their video-on-demand platform, Globe Player.
  • The Royal Opera House: enjoy free Friday premieres and live content you can access for free at any time as part of their #OurHousetoYourHouse series
  • The National Theatre At Home: The National Theatre has provided a selection of much-loved live productions made available to watch on their YouTube for free over the next weeks
  • BBC Scotland Story Time: unwind with your little ones with some big-name children’s authors reading from their books on Authors Live
  • Royal Academy of Dance: RAD @ HOME put together content to help you make the most of dancing at home including online dance classes for all ages and abilities, articles, interviews and more.
  • British Museum: explore the UK's iconic museum, located in the heart of London, virtually without having to leave your home. Discover the ancient Rosetta Stone, Egyptian mummies and hundreds of ancient artifacts. 
  • The Reader at Home: The Reader at Home brings you wonderful reading materials, shared reading online, by phone and more.
  • Hijinx free Festival of Theatre and Film: The first-ever Hijinx online festival was hugely successful. Check out the theatre's YouTube channel for their web series Flatmates and more! 
  • Craft Scotland: Craft Scotland is the national development agency supporting makers and promoting craft. Get creative with their What’s On listings brimming with craft workshops, courses and exhibitions.
  • Hayward Gallery Southbank Centre: Hayward Gallery is a world-renowned contemporary art gallery and a landmark of brutalist architecture. While they are closed you will be given virtual access to content from their exhibitions including videos, podcasts and blogs from Among the Trees with featured artists and their curators. 
  • Royal Academy of Arts: The RA has been around for over 250 years to promote art and artists. You've collected nine art podcasts to inspire you during the lockdown and transport you from the comfort of your living room to the art world.
  • Makina!: Discover Makina: a music genre that despite being around for three decades in the North East, is barely known. It's unique – a supercharged blend of 180bpm Euro dance and fast MCing. "Makina!" explores its origin and popularity and is British Council and Boiler Room documentary. 
  • Deafinitely Theatre: Definitely Theatre is an award-winning bilingual theatre for deaf and hearing audiences alike, celebrating deaf artists throughout the UK. They are the first deaf-launched and deaf-led professional theatre company in the UK producing quality bilingual theatre in British sign language and spoken English. You can watch numerous productions (and insights) for free on their YouTube channel!
  • Rifco Theatre: Rifco develops, produces and tours vibrant, accessible and ambitious new plays and musicals that reflect and celebrate British Asian contemporary experiences. Watch some amazing productions on their website

Beim British Council sind wir entschlossen, euch das Beste zu bieten, was die britische Kunst und Kultur auch in Krisenzeiten zu bieten hat. Wir arbeiten hart daran, hochkarätige Veranstaltungen zu liefern und gleichzeitig auf die Richtlinien und Einschränkungen der deutschen Regierung und der Gesundheitsbehörden zu reagieren. 

Wir haben eine Liste von Ressourcen zusammengestellt, die ihr virtuell genießen könnt, vom Komfort und der Sicherheit eures Zuhauses, während ihr in Verbindung bleibt. 

  • Selector Radio: jede Woche bringt euch Jamz Supernova das Beste, was UK musikalisch zu bieten hat: von jeder Band, jedem Künstler und jedem Genre, solange es neu und aufregend ist
  • British Council Collection: schaut euch die Kunst-, Skulpturen- und Designsammlung des British Council online an: Seit den späten 1930-Jahren wurden die Werke bedeutender britischer Künstler gesammelt, um international die Leistungen der besten UK-Künstlern zu präsentieren
  • Hay Festival Digital: Wir sind stolz, Partner des Hay Festivals zu sein, das vom 22. bis 31. Mai online streamen und 100 der weltweit größten Dichter und Denker zusammenbringen wird. Hay wird aus Performances, interaktiven Q&A's und Diskussionen bestehen und ein mehr als beeindruckendes Line-up vereinen: Lesungen und Gespräche mit dem Dichter und Theaterautoren Inua Ellams, dem Broadcaster und Autoren Afua Hirsch sowie ein starbesetztes Aufgebot mit Margaret Atwood, Poeta laureatus Simon Armitage, Benedict Cumberbatch, Stephen Fry, Vanessa Redgrave, Tom Hollander, Toby Jones, Helen McCrory und vielen mehr.
  • The Globe Theatre At Home: das berühmte "Wooden O" stellt sechse seiner Produktionen kostenlos online auf YouTube zur Verfügung; seit Montag, dem 6. April wird alle zwei Wochen ein neues Stück veröffentlicht und zahlreiche weitere Filme (130 Stück) können online, mit Video-on-Demand Globe Player, ausgeliehen oder gekauft werden 
  • BBC Scotland Story Time: Schalte einen Gang runter und nimm deine Kleinen zu Hause mit auf eine tolle Erzähle-Reise: Authors Live hat die größten Kinderbuchautoren auf die Bühne geholt und aufgenommen. 
  • The Royal Opera House: mit der  #OurHousetoYourHouse-Reihe könnt ihr jeden Freitag kostenlos Premien ansehen und auf weiteren kostenlosen live Content zugreifen
  • The National Theatre At Home: das National Theatre hat eine Reihe seiner beliebten Live-Produktionen für die kommenden Wochen auf seinem YouTube-Channel kostenlos verfügbar gemacht 
  • Royal Academy of Dance: RAD @ HOME hat Inhalte zusammengestellt, die euch helfen, das Beste aus dem Tanzen zu Hause zu machen, einschließlich Online-Tanzkurse für alle Altersgruppen und Fähigkeiten, Artikel, Interviews und mehr
  • British Museum: Erkunden Sie das berühmte Museum Großbritanniens, im Herzen von London, ohne euer Zuhause verlassen zu müssen. Entdeckt den alten Stein von Rosette, ägyptische Mumien und Hunderte von antiken Artefakten
  • The Reader at Home: The Reader at Home bringt euch neuen Lesestoff und wundervolle Lese-Sessions, online und via Telefon, und noch viel mehr.
  • Hijinx free Festival of Theatre and Film: Das erste Hijinx-Online-Festival war unglaublich erfolgreich. Auf dem YouTube-Kanal des Theaters gibt es weiteren Content, z. B. die Webserie Flatmates kostenlos!
  • Craft Scotland: Craft Scotland ist die nationale Entwicklungsagentur, die Hersteller unterstützt und das Handwerk fördert. Werdet mithilfe der What’s-On-Angebote voller Handwerksworkshops, Kurse und Ausstellungen kreativ!
  • Hayward Gallery Southbank Centre: Die Hayward Gallery ist eine weltberühmte Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst und ein Wahrzeichen brutalistischer Architektur. Während sie geschlossen ist, erhalten Sie virtuellen Zugriff auf Inhalte aus den Ausstellungen, darunter Videos, Podcasts und Blogs von Among the Trees mit vorgestellten Künstlern und ihren Kuratoren.
  • Royal Academy of the Arts: Seit über 250 Jahren gibt es die RA, um sich für Kunst und Künstler einzusetzen. Sie haben neun Kunst-Podcasts gesammelt, um Sie während des Lockdowns zu inspirieren und Sie aus dem Komfort Ihres Wohnzimmers in die Kunstwelt zu transportieren.