Tuesday 10 June 2014 - 00:00 to Wednesday 11 June 2014 - 00:00
Akademie der Künste, Berlin

15th poesiefestival berlin

The 15th poesiefestival berlin has invited six poets from Scotland and six German-speaking poets to take part in the translation workshop VERSschmuggel / reversible in Berlin in June 2014. The results of the translation workshops will be presented during readings at the poesiefestival at the Academy of Arts, Hanseatenweg on Tuesday 10 June and Wednesday 11 June 2014.

The participating poets are Anna Crowe, Ryan van Winkle, Peter MacKay, J.O. Morgan, Don Paterson and Robin Robertson from Scotland together with Michael Donhauser, Ulrike Draesner, Odile Kennel, Dagmara Kraus, Björn Kuhligk and Katharina Schultens from Germany.

The poets participating in VERSschmuggel will work on poems in pairs, supported by interpreters and interlinear translations, which make a direct exchange possible. This exchange gives rise to an intensive ‘smuggling’ of stylistic contexts, cultural connotations and poetic traditions through different languages. The results of the German-Scottish VERSschmuggel workshop will be published in a bilingual anthology, which includes a CD of the readings, in both Scotland (by Freight Books) and Germany (by Verlag das Wunderhorn).

VERSschmuggel Scotland-Germany Part I

Tuesday 10 June 2014, 19.00


  • Dagmara Kraus / Peter Mackay
  • Björn Kuhligk / Ryan van Winkle
  • Odile Kennel / Anna Crowe

VERSschmuggel Scotland-Germany Part II

Wednesday 11 June 2014, 19.00


  • Ulrike Draesner / Robin Robertson
  • Michael Donhauser / Don Paterson
  • Katharina Schultens / J.O. Morgan


Single: 8 Euro

Reduced: 5 Euro

Advance sales at the Akademie der Künste: 

Tel +49 (0)30 200 57 1000 

Hanseatenweg 10, 10557 Berlin-Tiergarten

Pariser Platz 4, 10117 Berlin-Mitte

Daily from 10:00–19:00


VERSschmuggel is supported by the British Council and Creative Scotland.

The poesiefestival berlin is a project by the Literaturwerkstatt Berlin in cooperation with the Academy of the Arts and is sponsored by the Hauptstadtkulturfonds.